Are males privileged to ‘decide’ on abortion when it does not involve their ‘own’ body? Central word is: decide, as one is granted the power to manufacture a decision on a stance in which they are unable to appreciate to the fullest extent. This is radically different from merely voicing an opinion; which is of course granted under the constitution of rights sub-sectioned by freedom of speech. In contrast, as one coherently devises a decision, it necessitates expectations of transforming one’s opinion into an objective artifact, an action, or an upshot transcending before them.

On morality, it is accepted that no one is entitled to the service of another person without their consent (ex. slavery),  nor is one entitled to exploit the body of a fellow human being as a resource for their own selfish aims (ex. unconsented organ harvest). Withal, this covers the idea of survival; namely, I can not use any part of your body devoid of consent to further my subsistence. Thus, this marginalizes the rebuttals revolving around the ‘personhood’ of the embryo, as entitlement is not justified without permission.

tumblr_morkzz2u3d1qd1veuo1_500

Back to the issue of making a ‘decision’. Consider an individual with a third hand protruding from their stomach; now, can others decide on what the individual ought to do to that third hand? It seems intuitive that the competent individual has the right to do as they yearn. It is unethical to grant anyone the privilege to confer a decision on the prospect of that individual. Hence, the maxim would oblige, decisions are upheld only when voiced by the affected side. To broaden the point, if two individuals; namely, person A & B (same sex) both have a 3rd hand protruding from their stomach, it is intuitive that the verdict of person (A) must not overshadow the judgement of person (B). It seems unequivocally valid that males, in addition to females *gasp* should not be entertained by the act of voting on the fate of another party.

Males nor females are entitled to ‘decide’ on the competent decision of a male to undergo circumcision. Likewise, to confer others the capacity to cast a vote on abortion is to permit a deliberation entitled: “Enslaving her body to the verdict of other’s contemplation.” Therefore, we ought to do away with debating on what does not concern us.

If somebody’s choice does not affect you, you should not affect it 

26 thoughts on “Can a Third Party Decide On Abortion?

  1. DH
    Not only doesn’t anyone else have the right to claim power the individual woman’s body, but the abortion itself is punishment enough. The doctors who choose to perform them are the only ones knowledgeable and experienced enough to give politically (and hopefully religiously) untainted advice.

    By the way, thanks for complimenting my blog. I’m happy to follow yours, too.

    KCO

    Liked by 3 people

      • Sorry there’s no 5-star “like” for comments, because this deserves one. You are sooooo right. That’s why I declare myself an independent country and the world’s only free market capitalist. No one else has the right to negotiate my wares for me, without my personal permission.

        Liked by 4 people

  2. Exceptionally well argued. I thoroughly enjoyed reading this and nodding my head as I did so. Your points are totally valid and I can’t disagree with any of them. The ‘5 star’ comment from Katharine tallies perfectly, too.

    Liked by 3 people

  3. If one believes in chaos theory then all choices affect all others – aside from that input I appreciate the post, concur with your conclusion, and am impressed by your willingness to broach this topic – wish more people would… but, there are some harsh critics out there!

    Liked by 3 people

  4. Your conclusion is food for thought… If somebody’s choice does not affect you, you should not affect it

    Sometimes I think that we don’t realize the full ramifications of how our choices affect others … perhaps we are not as independent as we think we are.

    Well-written essay. Kudos!

    Liked by 2 people

  5. interesting post and theme. My instincts are to say a third party doesn’t have to live in the body and mind of the pregnant women. I am pro Abortion and have watched many debates with Pro life and for abortion. It’s a tough subject. Life. I am not religious. I have had an abortion for various reasons and I still think I made the right decision. If soemone had intervened I honestly think the outcome would be so different and not in a good way. I a have a beautiful daughter that I had when I was still in a bad place but she did change my life and I changed as a result. This is just my experience. I think if a person is going to be the host and give food and support a life to grow into a full human being then most of the say should be with that person.

    Liked by 2 people

  6. I have debated whether or not to respond to this. On the one hand, I am all about people’s rights. On the other hand, I have real objections with this argument.

    For the record, I am pro life. I am generally silent in all the militant rhetoric that flies both directions in this debate.

    I am also a man, so in a lot of your minds, that is strike two, and you will refuse to grant me standing in the matter.

    On the other hand, I have a perspective that is seldom heard. This argument that you make centers on the assumption that men are not involved, ans that there are no consequences beyond birth. The argument assumes that only the person carrying the child(I deliberately use that term rather than fetus) is impacted, and then only as long as the child is within the womb. That is an myopic view, even within legal statute. The courts have no problem making the man responsible if the child is delivered, and often award child support to the mother if paternity can be established, a practice that I support wholeheartedly.

    There is another less obvious way men are affected, and while it might not be relevant in every case, it is enough to discredit the “not affected” argument.

    I myself have been directly affected by an abortion, and I am not alone. There have been cases of men taking their own lives because their voices were taken from them. I would say that it affected them deeply. I know I am a trainwreck, and still struggle over 20 years after my wife decided on that course of action.

    I know I won’t change any minds here, but I hope to open some.

    Like

Leave a Reply

